Best Selling Author

Ruth Sutton

For many years, while I was busy working as an education consultant all around the world, I dreamed of two things, moving to Cumbria in north-west England and writing a novel. Happily, both those dreams have come true and the seven novels I’ve published since 2012 are all set in glorious West Cumbria where I now live. My stories reflect the fascinating industrial history of this area as well as its rugged landscape, between the mountains and the sea.

My Latest book

Two bodies: a burglar and a baby. DI Sam Tognarelli investigates.


My books

Here are the books, in the order they were written. Click on the cover for a full synopsis of each one and a link to buy them direct from me.


The trilogy follows the life and loves of Jessie Whelan through the first half of the twentieth century, combining fictional characters with real places and events. People who live in this area and visitors too love these stories for their setting, their authenticity, their engaging characters and their pace.

A Good Liar




Cruel Tide

Fatal Reckoning

Burning Secrets

Out of the Deep


Cumbria is a wonderful setting for fiction, and Ruth Sutton’s fresh voice makes her a welcome addition to the ranks of Cumbrian authors.


Cruel Tide is a thrilling tale of corruption and exploitation.


In her Cumbrian trilogy Ruth Sutton’s characters are engaged in a rattling good story and the historical references are engrossing

Join my Newsletter

Keep in touch with all the news about my latest projects, launches and
book signing events.